Letting Go

Morning all,

As it’s a Bank Holiday, I’m going to take that as an excuse to talk to you about something  little bit different.  Anyway, I’m sure you all know by now that we’re going to be at The Vintage Furniture Flea next Sunday (4th Sept) with oodles of lovely stuff for you, so I won’t mention it any more.  Except to show you these pictures:

DSCF1026 DSCF0943 DSCF1220 DSCF1204 DSCF1250 DSCF1234 DSCF1242

 

Right, shameless self promotion done, now on with the blog.

Yesterday we took our three kiddos to an indoor climbing wall in Bristol – Daughter 1 is forever disappearing up trees, onto walls, over furniture (grr), closely followed by Daughter 2, so it seemed like the ideal activity for them.  Number 1 Son is more of a natural risk assessor, so he approached things more carefully, but with no less enthusiasm or success.  I haven’t done any kind of climbing where harnesses are involved since I was about 10, so although perfectly willing to have a go, I was in truth a tiny bit nervous.  As it turns out, pretending to be brave at stuff in front of your kids is a good motivator.  I could get to the top no problem.

And then.

And then, to get down again, you just have to let go – the safety ropes gently lower you back down to the ground.  That’s it.  Just let go.

It’s weirdly difficult to do.

I could see my six years olds gleefully flinging themselves away from the top of the walls and floating down safely.  I knew it was safe.  And yet…you put all that effort into climbing up there, for heaven’s sake.  The whole point up until now was to hold on.  And it was quite high, when you looked down…

After a minor battle between mind and body, I did let go.  And I climbed back up, and let go again, several more times.  It was weird every time, but did get easier.  There’s a deep life lesson in there, I’m sure, but instead of discussing it in more detail, I will just gently point you in the direction of The Awkward Yeti, where you can enjoy a deeper exploration of the difference between mind and body (or more specifically, Heart and Brain) through cartoons.  Win-win.

0228_ForkintheRoad

Have a great Bank Hol,

H xx

Leave a Reply

