New Toys

Morning all!  The sun is shining, the children arguing, and projects await – another day at Happy HQ begins!  Again, quite a lot of last week was eaten up by planning for the move – this life changing decision stuff sure is time consuming.  As a result, dear Queen Anne (as she is affectionately known in my head) is a little further off completion than I might have hoped.

20160516_091358
Curvy legs stripped (but not yet oiled), stripey cushion done, bamboo velvet on all the inside surfaces (mmm, strokey smooth…)
20160516_091417
More stripes being added to all the outside surfaces

As well we know, the best laid schemes o’ mice an’ men, gang aft agley.  If you’ve been reading this blog for a while, you may know how I feel about that.  This chair has been a looooong time in the making – the cushion was started as part of an upholstery course I went on last summer!  I’ve only recently discovered the perfect match in the bamboo velvet, and then the whole design came together.  Patience is a virtue, they tell me.

On the plus side, I have been able to play with my new toy – the Tacwise Master Nailer (!) 71 series electric staple gun.

See?
See?

I had been using a manual staple gun, and when that broke (in my super powerful upholster’s grip, obviously) I decided it was time for an upgrade.  Now, if I had an enormous workshop and no neighbours and a spare 500 or so quid, I probably would have gone the whole hog and bought a compressor and pneumatic stapler.  But I don’t, so I went with the next best thing – a powerful electric number with a narrow, flat ‘nose’ designed to get into those tight corners that really really need a staple in them.  It blummin’ works, too.  It’s not too heavy, you can wield it one handed if you’re using the other hand to hold things in place, and it’s not overly loud.  It is powerful, so I found the first few times that it ‘jumped’ a little when I fired it, but it wasn’t a problem once I got used to it.  After a full on day of stapling my wrist was a bit tired and my thumb a tiny bit sore, but definitely not as tired and sore as doing the same amount of stapling with a manual!  If you’re someone who plans to do a fairly large amount of upholstery, I’d recommend it – if you shop around a bit you can pick one up for just over £100.

So, all that said, I’d better get back to it!

Have a great week, vintage lovers,

H x

Leave a Reply

