Upholstery, Yoga and The A-Team

Last week I promised you a mid century cocktail chair reupholstered in vintage fabric, and tah-da! I have delivered!  (I think the Austin Powers influence is evident here…)

Wowza!
Wowza!

I’m pretty pleased with how this one’s turned out – bright and fun and cool and unusual, even if I do say so myself.  I love it when a plan comes together.

Hannibal also enjoys the completion of plans.
Hannibal also enjoys the completion of plans.

So what are you up to this week? I hear you cry; well, this week is something different again (you know I like to mix it up.)  This week, I am going to be spending some time sorting out a few pieces of our own furniture – maybe some Ercol quakers, perhaps a Parker Knoll recliner, or maybe a Hans Wegner J16 rocking chair.  All beautiful pieces that are sitting in our house, being used every day, and but not in their most glorious form…yet.  As I’m sure you can imagine, our own stuff usually gets pushed to the bottom of the pile, so that we can concentrate on bringing you guys something new and stylish to enjoy – but this week they are finally going to get a bit of attention.  I am notoriously bad at remembering to take ‘before’ photographs, so here are a few now before I forget:

A J16 Rocker with a very bad paint to - to be sanded and refinished back to beautiful wood.
A J16 Rocker with a very bad paint job – to be sanded and refinished back to beautiful wood.
This Parker Knoll will be have a partial wool plaid makeover...
This Parker Knoll will be having a partial wool plaid makeover…
One of 6 Quakers for part stripped, part painted facelift!
One of 6 Quakers for a part stripped, part painted facelift!

Now, these won’t all get finished this week, but I’ll keep you updated with progress as we go along!

Yesterday I finished a 30 day online yoga programme with the wonderful Yoga With Adriene.  I have a fairly serious girl crush on her.  I think she’s brilliant, not just at the yoga and the teaching (for free!) of the yoga, but also at helping you to think about things a little more broadly.  One of the ideas that comes up in some of her videos is taking care of oneself – tending to your needs.  Tend to your space.  Give yourself a nice place to be, so that you can feel happy and fulfilled and ultimately, help others.  And because (in my head) Adriene and I are friends now, I am taking her advice and tending to my space, refilling my creative tank, so that in the end I can carry on helping you all make the most of your homes, and tend to your spaces.

Namaste!

H xx

P.S. Next week – a Guy Rogers chair makeover!

 

 

 

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

