Mid Mod Modular

This week it’s been back to business after the jolly holidays, and today I want to share with you the fruits of my labour…

Ercol 427s modular set
Ercol 427 modular set

These began their transformation during my week at The Upholstery Workshop – and admittedly it’s taken me a little while to complete the set, but you can’t rush great things, right?  These are beautiful ercol 427 Easy Chairs, designed by Lucian Ercolani, and manufactured in a limited run between 1959 and 1970. They’re becoming increasingly rare, and lots of you mid century modern fans consider them to be one of the most iconic of ercol designs – yummy, yes?    Of course they ooze mid century style, yet are easy to slip in to your contemporary home – not too big, not too small, they are the ‘just right’ baby bear of furniture.  Nice and neutral, simple shapes, and super flexible – a 3 seater sofa, a pair and spare, or three individual seats, depending on which friends you’ve got coming round and how much you want to sit next to them (or not).  In case you can’t tell, I’m dead proud of these, guys.

One on his own, just to show you...
One on his own, just to show you…

In other news, last night I ordered myself a little treat…a vintage industrial Singer sewing machine!

Mt new (old) machine!
My new (old) machine!

Isn’t she a beaut?  Can’t wait to get my hands on her and whip up some more cushion sets. (My poor old domestic machine has developed a peculiar squeak of late – every time I sew it sounds like I’m torturing a guinea pig – little Brother needs a rest, I feel.)

Right, well to go along with those 427s I’ve got a 442 & 443 to finish (In case you haven’t got those Ercol style number memorised, that’s an armchair similar to these modular chairs, and a footstool to go with it) so I’d better get back to work…

P.S.  Don’t forget, it’s not long until our Bethnal Green visit with Judy’s Furniture Flea, so come along and see us on the 6th September!

One comment

Leave a Reply

