Learning stuff!

Hello again, and apologies for the radio silence last week – I was off expanding my mind and my skills with The Upholstery Workshop in Salisbury!

You may remember this little beauty…deco recliner

Well, with a bit of expert help from Annie, the course teacher, it is now this little beauty!DSCF0716

I just had the best week.  I got the chance to try out some upholstery skills I’d not used before, I met lovely people, and I got lunch made for me every day.  I would pay the course fee for that luxury alone!  Here’s a super quick picture guide to rebuilding this Deco Recliner:

We stripped all the old crap off...
We stripped all the old crap off…
IMG_20150713_171350468
Then we covered the springs with jute and two layers of bonded hair, lovingly hand stitched all around the edges…
Having replaced the webbing on the back, we layer it up with jute, bonded hair and white cotton felt - making it look like a big ol' pregnant belly..
Having replaced the webbing on the back, we layered it up with jute, bonded hair and white cotton felt – making it look like a big ol’ pregnant belly..
Then some white cotton felt and calico, then we're ready for top fabric...
Then more white cotton felt for the seat and calico all over, and we’re ready for top fabric…
When necessary, I motivated myself in a retro stylee...
When necessary, I motivated myself in a retro stylee…
I also developed massive workshop envy...
I also developed massive workshop envy… 

And there you have it – a transformed chair, (which, incidentally, sold the very evening I got it home – making it our fastest selling chair ever!), new projects started and one very happy me.  Not so long ago, I would have written off the possibility of doing a week long course as too difficult, too expensive, too scary.  But I am here to tell you my friends, when you get the chance to learn something new, take it.

‘Til next week!

H x

2 comments

Leave a Reply

